Prev | Next (1 of 4) Back to thumbnails

  • Niagara Mohawk Building / Syracuse, NY

  • Harriet May Mills House / Syracuse, NY

    The Harriet May Mills House was renovated in 2004 by Syracuse Brick House, Inc. for use as a community halfway house for twelve women in recovery from drug and alcohol addiction. The house contains six bedrooms, bathrooms, dining room, a new kitchen, and support offices. The building required urgent stabilization and rehabilitation to prevent its demolition. The need for immediate action to preserve the historic home received widespread public attention. Support for the proposed rehabilitation was evident at many levels as evidenced by the funding provided by the City of Syracuse, Senator John A. DeFrancisco, NYS Homeless Housing Assistance Corporation, the Jon Ben Snow Foundation, the CNY Community Foundation, and a NYS OPRHP EPF Grant. In all SBH raised approximately $750,000 for the project. Crawford & Stearns served as architects for the comprehensive rehabilitation including design and replication of the c. 1900 front porch.

  • Crouse College / Syracuse, NY

    Crouse College for Women, built in 1888, is an iconic red sandstone Romanesque style academic building housing the Syracuse University College of Visual and Performing Arts, including offices, practice rooms, visual arts studios and an auditorium which seats 643 persons and features extensive use of stained glass and spectacular wooden hammer-beam ceiling truss system. As architectural preservation consultants to Klepper, Hahn & Hyatt Engineers, Crawford & Stearns’ objective was to stabilize and restore the original wooden windows to an operating and attractive condition. Of the nearly 400 windows, few of the wooden sash have been replaced and a notable percentage of the double-hung units still retain their original sheet glass with minor imperfections such as bubbles and ripples. The work also included frame and casing repairs as well as interior and exterior refinishing.

  • Llenroc / Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

    The mansion known as Llenroc was built between 1865 and 1875 as the residence of Ezra Cornell, the founder of Cornell University. Llenroc was designed by the prestigious firm of Nichols and Brown of Albany, New York and, like the university, it bears Cornell's own name, though in this instance it is spelled backwards. Situated prominently atop a steep hill with the University as a backdrop, Llenroc is a textbook example of the 19th century romantic picturesque notions of design and living. The broad vistas and the distinctive Gothic character of the house all fit precisely into the rural country residence philosophies espoused during the mid-19th century. In 1990 Crawford & Stearns was retained by the alumni organization responsible for the property, the Cornell Delta Phi Association Inc., to prepare a Building Condition Assessment and Recommendation Report for Llenroc. Recognizing the importance of understanding the complexities of the building, as well as its significance and problems, the Association worked closely with Crawford & Stearns to establish a program, which would be functionally useful for their long-term occupancy, restoration, and maintenance needs. This report has served as a planning document for scheduling of maintenance, repair and fund raising activities, and by the fraternity and the alumni association. In the past two decades, Crawford & Stearns has provided professional services for several Llenroc projects, including code consultation, rehabilitation of the third floor and kitchen, structural remediation beneath the living room fireplace, window restoration, North Piazza restoration, and driveway, steps and railing improvements. Crawford & Stearns continues to provide additional services as funds become available.

  • Harriet May Mills House / Syracuse, NY

    The Harriet May Mills House was renovated in 2004 by Syracuse Brick House, Inc. for use as a community halfway house for twelve women in recovery from drug and alcohol addiction. The house contains six bedrooms, bathrooms, dining room, a new kitchen, and support offices. The building required urgent stabilization and rehabilitation to prevent its demolition. The need for immediate action to preserve the historic home received widespread public attention. Support for the proposed rehabilitation was evident at many levels as evidenced by the funding provided by the City of Syracuse, Senator John A. DeFrancisco, NYS Homeless Housing Assistance Corporation, the Jon Ben Snow Foundation, the CNY Community Foundation, and a NYS OPRHP EPF Grant. In all SBH raised approximately $750,000 for the project. Crawford & Stearns served as architects for the comprehensive rehabilitation including design and replication of the c. 1900 front porch.

  • Crouse College / Syracuse, NY

    Crouse College for Women, built in 1888, is an iconic red sandstone Romanesque style academic building housing the Syracuse University College of Visual and Performing Arts, including offices, practice rooms, visual arts studios and an auditorium which seats 643 persons and features extensive use of stained glass and spectacular wooden hammer-beam ceiling truss system. As architectural preservation consultants to Klepper, Hahn & Hyatt Engineers, Crawford & Stearns’ objective was to stabilize and restore the original wooden windows to an operating and attractive condition. Of the nearly 400 windows, few of the wooden sash have been replaced and a notable percentage of the double-hung units still retain their original sheet glass with minor imperfections such as bubbles and ripples. The work also included frame and casing repairs as well as interior and exterior refinishing.

  • Llenroc / Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

    The mansion known as Llenroc was built between 1865 and 1875 as the residence of Ezra Cornell, the founder of Cornell University. Llenroc was designed by the prestigious firm of Nichols and Brown of Albany, New York and, like the university, it bears Cornell's own name, though in this instance it is spelled backwards. Situated prominently atop a steep hill with the University as a backdrop, Llenroc is a textbook example of the 19th century romantic picturesque notions of design and living. The broad vistas and the distinctive Gothic character of the house all fit precisely into the rural country residence philosophies espoused during the mid-19th century. In 1990 Crawford & Stearns was retained by the alumni organization responsible for the property, the Cornell Delta Phi Association Inc., to prepare a Building Condition Assessment and Recommendation Report for Llenroc. Recognizing the importance of understanding the complexities of the building, as well as its significance and problems, the Association worked closely with Crawford & Stearns to establish a program, which would be functionally useful for their long-term occupancy, restoration, and maintenance needs. This report has served as a planning document for scheduling of maintenance, repair and fund raising activities, and by the fraternity and the alumni association. In the past two decades, Crawford & Stearns has provided professional services for several Llenroc projects, including code consultation, rehabilitation of the third floor and kitchen, structural remediation beneath the living room fireplace, window restoration, North Piazza restoration, and driveway, steps and railing improvements. Crawford & Stearns continues to provide additional services as funds become available.

Crawford & Stearns has provided architectural design, planning, and historic preservation consultant services relating to the restoration and preservation of numerous historic sites including the above selections.  Please select a thumbnail image to enlarge photo and see a brief description of the project.